The Signal is
The Signal is the student voice of Georgia State.

Our Mission Statement

The Signal shall provide, in a fair and accurate manner, news of interest and significance to the Georgia State University community and serve as a forum for the expression of ideas of members of that community. Furthermore, The Signal shall provide an opportunity for students to pursue experience within a professional newspaper environment. The Signal shall also provide truthful and ethical advertising of interest to the Georgia State University community.

Advertising

The deadline for all print advertising is 5 p.m. on the Tuesday prior to the desired issue of publication. Advertisements must be print-ready and in PDF format; files must be delivered via email to advertising@georgiastatesignal.com. Please visit our Advertising page for more information regarding digital advertising, rates and accepted payment methods.

Coverage Requests

Requests for coverage and tips should be submitted to the Editor in Chief and/or the relevant section editor. For breaking news, email us directly at editor@georgiastatesignal.com or contact us on Twitter and Facebook.

Submit a Letter to the Editor

Letters must be submitted to the Opinions Editors via email and must include the text of the letter in the body of the message. Letters should be 200-400 words maximum. The Signal will allow longer letters but only in rare circumstances. Letters must include the full name(s) of the writer(s) and include their year and major. If the writer is a faculty member, they must include their title and department. Letters will be fact-checked prior to publication. The writer may be obligated to make changes to the letter for publication. Letters will be edited for grammar, clarity, length, factual accuracy and adherence to Signal policy. The Signal reserves the right to modify and/or reject letters at the discretion of the editorial staff.

Disclaimer

Opinions and Letters to the Editor expressed in The Signal are the opinions of the writers and readers. They do not reflect the opinions of The Signal.

Opinions expressed in Editorials are the opinions of the Editorial Board. They do not reflect the opinions of the editor-in-chief or other staff.


Our Staff

Signal Office

Suite 250, Student Center West
P.O. Box 3968
Atlanta, GA 30303

Phone: (404) 413-1620
Fax: (404) 413-1622

Editor-in-Chief
Daniel Varitek, (404) 413-1617
editor@georgiastatesignal.com
Digital Editor
Angel Nelson
digital@georgiastatesignal.com
News Editor
William Solomons
news@georgiastatesignal.com

Production Designer
Devin Phillips
production@georgiastatesignal.com
Opinions Editor
Open
opinions@georgiastatesignal.com
Arts & Living Editor
Sydney Bloeme
living@georgiastatesignal.com
Sports Editor
Jerell Rushin
sports@georgiastatesignal.com
Photography Editor (Atlanta)
Vanessa Johnson
photo@georgiastatesignal.com
Photography Editor (Perimeter)
Open
photo2@georgiastatesignal.com
Copy Editor
Open
copy@georgiastatesignal.com
Associate Digital Editor
Open
digital2@georgiastatesignal.com
Associate News Editor
Open
news2@georgiastatesignal.com
Associate Designer
Open
production2@georgiastatesignal.com
Associate Arts & Living Editor
Samuel Puckett
living2@georgiastatesignal.com
Associate Sports Editor
Open
sports2@georgiastatesignal.com
Marketing Manager
Taylor Dudley
marketing@georgiastatesignal.com
Promotions Associate
Open
promotions@georgiastatesignal.com
Advertising Coordinator
Wakesha Henley
advertising@georgiastatesignal.com
Faculty Advisor
Bryce McNeil
bmcneil1@gsu.edu